What a PDF editor should cost on a Mac in 2026
In short: In November 2026 a full PDF editor for the Mac costs anything from nothing to about $240 a year. The big suites are subscriptions, and a few apps still sell a one-time licence. If you mostly read, fill and sign, including with a certificate, you should not need a subscription. Better PDF does all three for free, and Pro, which adds editing, is one payment from $9.99.
A PDF app is something most people buy once and forget about until the renewal email arrives. So it is worth asking what the work is worth. For most people that work is three things: read a document, fill it in and sign it. You need to edit the text of a PDF less often than the prices of the big suites suggest.
We make Better PDF, so keep that in mind as you read. Every price below comes from the vendor’s own page or its US Mac App Store listing, checked on 9 November 2026. The links are at the end. Where a vendor does not say something, the table says so instead of guessing.
The prices, side by side
| App | Price in USD | One-time licence | Free tier or trial | Account, cloud | Certificate signing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe Acrobat Pro | $19.99 a month on an annual plan ($239.88 prepaid), $29.99 month to month | Not on the pricing page | Free trial; Acrobat Reader is free | Adobe account | Yes |
| Adobe Acrobat Standard | $14.99 a month on an annual plan ($179.88 prepaid), $24.99 month to month | No | Acrobat Reader is free | Adobe account | Yes |
| PDF Expert | In-app purchases from $39.99 to $139.99 on the US Mac App Store; a lifetime option on the vendor page | Yes, lifetime | Free download, some features paid | One account across devices | No: typed, drawn or image signatures |
| Nitro PDF Pro (formerly PDFpen) | $139.99 a year on the US Mac App Store | Not on Mac | 14-day trial | Not stated | Yes, from the keychain |
| PDFgear | Free | Not needed | Free; no paid plans listed | No sign-up needed | Yes, certificate signing on Mac |
| Preview | Free, built in | Not needed | Built in | None | No: handwritten signature only |
| UPDF | $54.99 a year or $84.99 perpetual on the US Mac App Store; AI add-ons extra | Yes, perpetual | Free plan watermarks edited files; 2 conversions a day | Sign-in, 1 GB of cloud storage | Import of a digital ID documented |
| Foxit PDF Editor | $129.99 a year per user; Editor+ $159.99 a year | Yes, PDF Editor 14 at $209.99 | 14-day trial; Foxit Reader is free | Not stated | Yes, from the keychain |
| OxnaPDF | Free | Not needed | Free, no paywall; AI has a daily cap | No account unless you connect an AI | Not mentioned |
| Better PDF | Free; Pro $9.99 for the first 100 buyers, $19.99 up to 500, $29.99 after | Yes, Pro is one payment | Read, fill, sign, OCR and most conversions free for good; 7 days of full Pro | No account, nothing uploaded | Yes, free, USB tokens included |
Some notes on reading the table:
- “Not stated” means the vendor page we checked did not say. It does not mean the answer is no.
- Prices are in US dollars before tax, and several vendors charge different prices in different countries.
- PDF Expert’s pricing page showed us regional prices only. Its dollar figures come from the App Store listing, which does not say which purchase is yearly and which is lifetime.
Subscription or one payment
The two best-known suites are subscriptions. Acrobat Pro costs $239.88 a year paid up front, and Nitro PDF Pro for Mac is $139.99 a year. Over three years that comes to about $720 and $420.
A few apps still sell a one-time licence: UPDF’s perpetual plan, Foxit PDF Editor 14 and PDF Expert’s lifetime option. They cost more on the day you buy and less from the second year on.
Then there are the free apps. Preview reads well and does quick markup, but it cannot sign with a certificate. PDFgear and OxnaPDF are free and cover a lot of ground. For many people free is the right answer, and we would rather say so than pretend otherwise.
What a free tier really includes
Free tiers differ more than prices do. Check three things:
- Watermarks. Some free plans put a mark on every page you edit. UPDF’s free plan, for example, watermarks edits, annotations, forms and page tools.
- Daily caps. Two conversions a day, or five OCR runs, seems generous until a forty-page scan arrives.
- What stays free after the trial. A seven- or fourteen-day trial that ends in a locked app is a trial, not a free tier.
For signing, check whether the free tier signs with a certificate or only places a picture of your handwriting. They are different things. A handwritten signature is an image on the page. A certificate signature is a cryptographic seal written into the file, and it shows whether anyone changed the document after you signed.
Files, accounts and the cloud
Every desktop app in the table opens files on your Mac. They differ in what happens after that. Some send pages to a server for OCR or conversion, and some keep a copy in their own cloud storage. AI features usually send the document’s text to an AI service. Several apps want you to make an account before you can do anything.
There is nothing wrong with any of that in itself, but it limits which files you can open in the app. You may not be allowed to send a contract under NDA, a medical letter or a scanned passport anywhere. If that kind of file is your work, “is it encrypted” is the wrong question. Ask whether the file leaves your Mac.
What it should cost to read, fill and sign
Here is our view. Reading, filling forms and signing, including signing with a certificate, are basic tasks a computer should do without a monthly fee. Editing the text of a PDF is a real tool, and it is fair to charge for it. Charging for it every month is the vendor’s choice, not a law.
That is how Better PDF is priced. The free app:
- reads in light, dark, night and e‑ink,
- fills any form, flat scans included,
- recognises scanned pages on the Mac,
- converts to images, text, Markdown and CSV,
- signs by hand or with a keychain certificate, smart card or USB token.
Signing writes a PAdES signature as an incremental update, with an optional RFC 3161 time-stamp. None of the free features expire.
Pro is one payment, the same price in the Mac App Store and from betterpdf.co, on a launch ladder: $9.99 for the first 100 buyers, $19.99 up to 500 and $29.99 after that. It adds editing text and images in place, redaction, password protection, PDF to Word, merge and split, signature styles and the extra scan filters. One purchase covers Mac, iPhone and iPad.
If you sign documents for a living, the sums are simple. Three years of the best-known subscription costs about $720. In Better PDF, certificate signing is free and everything else costs at most $29.99, once.
Which one to pick
- You only read, and sometimes sign by hand. Preview is enough.
- You sign with a certificate or a USB token. Pick an app whose free tier signs with one, and check that your token’s driver works with it. We wrote about which apps support USB tokens on a Mac.
- You edit PDFs every day, in a team that shares one suite. A subscription may be worth it for the shared features.
- You edit now and then. A one-time licence costs less over any stretch longer than a year.
If you want to try ours, download Better PDF. The first seven days include all of Pro.
Prices checked on 9 November 2026, in US dollars, before tax:
- Adobe Acrobat Pro and Standard: https://www.adobe.com/acrobat/pricing.html; Acrobat Reader: https://www.adobe.com/acrobat/pdf-reader.html; certificate signing: https://www.adobe.com/devnet-docs/acrobatetk/tools/DigSigDC/planning.html
- PDF Expert: https://pdfexpert.com/pricing (regional prices only) and https://apps.apple.com/us/app/pdf-expert-edit-sign-pdfs/id1055273043?mt=12; signatures: https://support.readdle.com/pdfexpert/en_US/fill-and-sign-pdfs/sign-pdf-documents
- Nitro PDF Pro: https://www.gonitro.com/pricing, https://www.gonitro.com/pdf/pdf-pro/mac and https://apps.apple.com/us/app/nitro-pdf-pro-edit-sign/id6477621772?mt=12; signatures: https://gonitro.com/user-guide/mac/article/digital-signatures
- PDFgear: https://www.pdfgear.com/ and https://www.pdfgear.com/sign-pdf/sign-pdf-with-certificate.htm
- Preview: https://support.apple.com/guide/preview/fill-in-and-sign-pdf-forms-prvw35725/mac
- UPDF: https://updf.com/pricing/ and https://apps.apple.com/us/app/updf-pdf-editor-with-ai/id1619925971?mt=12; signatures: https://updf.com/updf-mac-user-guide/sign-pdf-mac/
- Foxit PDF Editor: https://www.foxit.com/pdf-editor/pricing/; signatures: https://help.foxit.com/manuals/pdf-editor/mac/en-us/11.1.0/PDF_Sign.html
- OxnaPDF: https://oxna.ai/pdf
- Better PDF: https://betterpdf.co/#pricing
Prices change. If one of these is out of date, write to [email protected] and we will correct it.
Questions people ask
- Is there a PDF editor for Mac without a subscription?
- Yes. Several apps still sell a one-time licence, among them UPDF's perpetual plan, a lifetime option for PDF Expert and Foxit PDF Editor 14. Better PDF Pro is a single payment: $9.99 for the first 100 buyers, $19.99 up to 500 and $29.99 after that. Prices checked on 9 November 2026.
- Can I sign a PDF with a certificate for free on a Mac?
- The built-in viewer signs by hand only. Adobe's free Reader can sign with a certificate. Better PDF's free tier signs with a keychain certificate, smart card or USB token and writes a PAdES signature.
- Do PDF apps upload my files?
- Desktop apps open your files on your Mac, but many send them to a cloud for OCR, conversion, storage or AI features, and some ask you to sign in. Read the vendor's privacy page for the feature you plan to use. Better PDF has no account and does every task on the Mac.